How to Stop Picking at Acne

Hello ShopaHAULics, Tiffany here, and I am going to tell you all about how to stop picking at your acne.

My background with acne is that I started to get it really bad when I was about 13-14 and continued to have it until the age of 20. I am newly turned 21 (woo-hoo!). So I know what it is like to resist the temptation of popping, plucking, pinching, shoving, etc. any acne that comes on your face.

Here are some of the things I have learned worked for me over the past couple of years…

1. Don’t look at mirrors.

I know that it can be hard not to look at the mirror but I can promise you that when you look at the mirror sparingly that it can work. The only times I looked at the mirror were right after the shower or if I wanted to put on makeup.

2. Don’t touch your face.

If you do #1 you will stop touching your face. For me, looking at the mirror made me want to scratch the pimples offs but if didn’t look at the mirror I didn’t touch my face. Sounds odd, huh?

Don’t wear makeup.

I know that when I was 16-17 I wanted to wear a whole bunch of makeup and feel really pretty, but I think that after about a year when my face began to create more pimples that I just needed to keep clear of foundation for a while. So if you can find a foundation that doesn’t clog your pores or if t is possible to stay away from makeup, I would recommend doing so.

Accept your skin.

This is probably the hardest thing for anyone to do and I have no set way but as I continued to have acne all over my face I just accepted that it would pass and it has. I would say that you can appreciate your skin more if you take a picture and look at it a couple years from now. I took a picture in my sophmore year and saw it last year in shock really of how badly it had gotten.

So there it is folks.

COMMENT ME!

